Who We Are 

 

Board of Directors

Clay W. Hershey, President
Partner and Senior Financial Advisor, Harbor Financial Group
 
Robert M. Baldwin, CPA, Vice President
Managing Member, Baldwin and Associates, LLC

 

Kristen Gayeski Tinkler, OD, Secretary
Optometrist, Carolina Eyecare Physicians, LLC
 
Carol S. Clement, Treasurer
Controller, Clement, Crawford and Thornhill, Inc.
 
J. Douglas Hazelton
Former Executive Vice President, MBNA America Bank, N.A., Retired
 
James F. Hill, III, O.D., F.A.A.O.
Optometrist, MUSC Storm Eye Institute
 
B. Karl Jantzen
Retired US Army Major and Asset Manager
 
Dr. John Kulze III, M.D.
Ophthalmologist, The Eye Center of Charleston
 
Tricia Leyte-Vidal
Customer Operations Training, Senior, Blackbaud, Inc.
 
Marshall G. McClure
 
Paula S. Mullen
Marketing Consultant, Cumulus Media, Inc.
 
George B. Smythe
Senior Vice President, Mortgage Loan Officer, South State Bank
 
Thomas M. Smythe
Financial Planner, Jacobs, Coolidge & Company, LLC
 
Joe Waring
Chief Financial Officer, Evening Post Industries
 
Michael W. Zolman, OD
Owner and Founder, Infinity Eye Care and Low Vision Rehabilitation Center
 
 

Advancement Committee

During the Spring of 2013, ABVI created an Advancement Committee comprised of motivated and talented young adults. The group was formed to help promote and raise awareness of the Association and its programs, to help recruit volunteers, to fundraise and to educate a younger generation about the Association and Charleston’s Tri-County community of blind and visually impaired individuals.

Ellen N. Hassell, Chair  
Business Development Officer, Synovus Trust Company 

 

Will H. Adams 
IT Manager, Immedion
 
Kate S. Brady 
Physical Therapist, MUSC
 
Alyssa Glazener
Employee Communications Coordinator, Ingevity
 
Maggie C. Harken
Credit Analyst, The Bank of South Carolina
 
Henry R. Laurens 
Realtor Associate, Carriage Properties
 
Lauren E. Morgan 
Human Resources Administrator, Anderson Insurance Associates, LLC
 
Hagood S. Morrison 
Vice President, Bridge Commercial
 
Kayley Seawright 
Aeromechanics Structural Analysis Engineer, Boeing
 
Jenkins H. Wilson 
Associate, Halio & Halio Law Firm

Our Team

Photo Description: The full ABVI staff is pictured above. From left to right, Amy Asper, Ruthie Harman, Bryson Young, Amy Harris, Mark Carmichael, Courtney Plotner, Kimberly Taylor, Brooks Harken, Susan Lucas, Anne Reid and Samantha McGovern.

Courtney Plotner

President and Chief Executive Officer
843-410-1056
cplotner@abvisc.org

Mark Carmichael

Chief Financial Officer
843-410-1055
mcarmichael@abvisc.org

Brooks Harken

Chief Programs Officer
843-952-7242
bharken@abvisc.org

Anne Reid

Chief Development Officer
843-212-3040
areid@abvisc.org

Amy Asper

Communications Manager
843-410-1057
aasper@abvisc.org

Bryson Young

Director of Major Gifts 
843-203-6037
byoung@abvisc.org

Ruthie Harman

Client Services & Office Manager
843-410-1058
rharman@abvisc.org

Amy Harris

Program Instructor
843-410-1060
aharris@abvisc.org

Susan Lucas

Volunteer Manager
843-410-1061
slucas@abvisc.org

Samantha McGovern

Certified Orientation and Mobility Specialist and Low Vision Therapist
843-737-4401
smcgovern@abvisc.org

Kimberly Taylor

Program Instructor
843-410-1059
ktaylor@abvisc.org

 

Fonzi