Who We Are 

 

Board of Directors

Robert M. Baldwin, CPA, Chair
Managing Member, Baldwin and Associates, LLC
 
Carol S. Clement, Vice Chair 
Controller, Clement, Crawford and Thornhill, Inc.
 
Kristen Gayeski Tinkler, OD, Secretary
Optometrist, Carolina Eyecare Physicians, LLC
 
Joe Waring, Treasurer
Chief Financial Officer, Evening Post Industries
 
Clay W. Hershey, Immediate Past Chair 
Partner and Senior Financial Advisor, Harbor Financial Group
 
Hon. Karl L. Brady
Charleston City Councilmember, District 5 
 
Samuel R. Clawson, Jr. 
Attorney, Clawson Fargnoli Trail Lawyers
 
J. Douglas Hazelton
Former Executive Vice President, MBNA America Bank, N.A., Retired
 
James F. Hill III, OD, FAAO
Optometrist, MUSC Storm Eye Institute

 

Dr. John Kulze III, MD
Ophthalmologist, The Eye Center of Charleston
 
Tricia Leyte-Vidal
Customer Operations Training, Senior, Blackbaud, Inc.
 
Marshall G. McClure
Vice President, Tax, E. I., du Pont de Nemours and Company, Retired

 

Paula S. Mullen
Marketing Consultant, Cumulus Media, Inc.
 
George B. Smythe
Senior Vice President, Mortgage Loan Officer, South State Bank
 
Thomas M. Smythe
Financial Planner, Jacobs, Coolidge & Company, LLC
 
B. Karl Jantzen, Board Member Emeritus 
Retired US Army Major and Asset Manager
 
 

Advancement Committee

During the Spring of 2013, ABVI created an Advancement Committee comprised of motivated and talented young adults. The group was formed to help promote and raise awareness of the Association and its programs, to help recruit volunteers, to fundraise and to educate a younger generation about the Association and Charleston’s Tri-County community of blind and visually impaired individuals.

Ellen N. Hassell, Chair  
Business Development Officer, Synovus Trust Company

 

Will H. Adams 
IT Manager, Immedion
 
Kate A. Brady 
Physical Therapist, MUSC
 
Alyssa Glazener
Employee Communications Coordinator, Ingevity
 
Maggie C. Harken
Credit Analyst, The Bank of South Carolina
 
Henry R. Laurens
Realtor Associate, Carriage Properties
 
Lauren E. Morgan
Human Resources Administrator, Anderson Insurance Associates, LLC
 
Kayley Seawright 
Aeromechanics Structural Analysis Engineer, Boeing
 
Jenkins H. Wilson
Associate, Halio & Halio Law Firm

Our Team

Photo Description: The full ABVI staff is pictured above. From left to right, Amy Asper, Ruthie Harman, Bryson Young, Amy Harris, Mark Carmichael, Courtney Plotner, Kimberly Taylor, Brooks Harken, Susan Lucas, Anne Reid and Samantha McGovern.

Courtney Plotner

President and Chief Executive Officer
843-410-1056
cplotner@abvisc.org

Mark Carmichael

Chief Financial Officer
843-410-1055
mcarmichael@abvisc.org

Brooks Harken

Chief Programs Officer
843-952-7242
bharken@abvisc.org

Anne Reid

Chief Development Officer
843-212-3040
areid@abvisc.org

Bryson Young

Director of Major Gifts
843-203-6037
byoung@abvisc.org

Amy Asper

Communications Manager
843-410-1057
aasper@abvisc.org

Ruthie Harman

Client Services and Office Manager Charleston
843-410-1058
rharman@abvisc.org

Ashton Parker

Client Services and Office Coordinator Ladson, Volunteer Coordinator
843-376-1004
aparker@abvisc.org

Samantha McGovern

Certified Orientation and Mobility Specialist and Certified Low Vision Therapist
843-737-4401
smcgovern@abvisc.org

 

Annie Ravenel Comar

Certified Occupational Therapy Assistant
843-376-1111
aravenel@abvisc.org

Amy Harris

Program Instructor
843-410-1060
aharris@abvisc.org

Kimberly Taylor

Program Instructor
843-410-1059
ktaylor@abvisc.org